Chamber Member Celebration and Awards




The Grande Prairie & District Chamber of Commerce welcomed our members and invited guests at our 2018 Chamber Member Celebration: New York Minute on Friday, January 26, 2018 at the Holiday Inn & Suites Grande Prairie Conference Centre.

This event included a Food Truck Buffet Station Experience and Networking; Farewell to Past Chair of the Board of Directors Dennis Bell; Welcome to NEW Chair of the Board Cris Seppola- Podsada; Recognition of Quarter Century and Half Century Members; Chamber Member Awards; door prize draws; and dance.




Platinum Title Sponsor - Canwest Group Benefit Consultants
Gold Sponsor - County of Grande Prairie
Silver Sponsor - CIBC Commercial Banking
Friends of the Chamber - Community Futures Grande Prairie & Region; Grande Prairie Regional Tourism Association; Holloway Lodging; Northstar Sharp's Foundation Specialists; Royal Canadian Legion; Winmar Property Restoration Specialist; Andre the DJ




The Grande Prairie & District Chamber of Commerce honoured business accomplishments, long-term member achievement, and volunteerism within our membership on Friday, January 26, 2018 with the presentation of our 2018 Chamber Member Awards.
The presentations were made during our 2018 Canwest Chamber Member Celebration at the Holiday Inn & Suites Grande Prairie Conference Centre.
The program also included an introduction to 2018 Chair of the Board of Directors Cris Seppola-Podsada of nine10 Incorporated; a farewell to Past Chair Dennis Bell of Northstar Sharp's Foundation Specialists; and the recognition of this year's quarter-century members: County of Grande Prairie No. 1; Fabricland; Hotsy Pressure Wash Systems; and S&T Production Testing Ltd.; as well as half-century members: Cookshaw Electric: A Division of Kamwin Electric Ltd.; and Windsor Ford.
Another highlight of the evening was the presentation of our annual Chamber Member Awards. This year's recipients are:
" Clem E. Collins Award (Chamber Volunteer) - Rob Petrone
" Business Citizen of the Year - Devco Developments
" Dan H. Minchin Award (Long-Term Member Business Achievement) - Al's News
The Chamber also bestowed the Above and Beyond Award to "an individual that has provided commendable community service that makes the community a better place to live and work" to Helen Rice.


Past Chamber Ball Award Recipients

Dan H. Minchin Award

Established in 1995, this award recognizes local businesses for long term achievement. This award recognizes a longstanding member business that has established itself as an exemplary business, has become a cornerstone of the greater Grande Prairie area, and is a strong supporter of the Chamber. In its tenure, the business has conducted itself responsibly and has kept in mind the best interests of the community. The recipient is a business that people can observe and say, "They do a good job and they're a very valuable asset to the community."


2018 - Al's News
2017 - Neil & Associates

2016 - Oliver's Funeral Home

2015 - Devco Developments Corporation
2014 - Edward Houssian
2013 - Cardon Homes
2012 - Crouse's Cleaners
2011 - ATB FInancial
2010 - Prairie Coast Equipment
2009 - Kay McVey Smith & Carlstrom LLP
2008 - Curry's Jewellers
2007 - Aron Services
2006 - Sun FM
2005 - Lauzon Home Appliances Ltd.
2004 - Carl Linden
2003 - Peace Air Ltd.
2002 - The Golden Star Restaurant
2001 - Menzies Printers
2000 - Ernie's Sports Experts
1999 - The Daily Herald-Tribune
1998 - Weyerhaeuser Canada Ltd.
1997 - Windsor Ford
1996 - Grande Prairie & District Co-op
1995 - Risley Equipment Ltd


Clem E. Collins Award

Established in 1995, this award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to the Chamber. This award recipient is a volunteer within the Chamber who has gone above and beyond to make the Chamber strong. This could be a past or current board member, or an active volunteer who has participated in Chamber initiatives.


2018 - Rob Petrone
2017 - Jerry Napier

2016 - April Weavell

2015 - Barb Metituk
2014 - Cheryl Weaver
2013 - Janice Chomik
2012 - Greg Podmore
2011 - John Simpson
2010 - Vince Vavrek
2009 - Darlene Repka-Smith
2008 - Jackie Clayton
2007 - Lyle Carlstrom
2006 - Michael Ouellette
2005 - Vi Sunohara
2004 - Ken Loudon
2003 - Fletcher Bootle
2002 - Bridget Hennigar
2001 - Helen Rice
2000 - Michael O'Connor
1999 - Terry Tissington
1998 - Joe Stepaniuk, Ken Rivers
1997 - Pete Merlo
1996 - Robin Schneider
1995 - Clem Collins


Business Citizen of the Year Award

Established in 1995, this award recognizes an individual for outstanding business accomplishment in the previous year. This award is presented to a Chamber member business owner who has contributed not only to the business community of the greater Grande Prairie area, but also contributed something in the way of community efforts or volunteer contributions. In short, it's awarded to a member individual who has tirelessly gone to great lengths to make the greater Grande Prairie area an attractive place to live and establish a business.


2018 - Devco Developments

2017 - Cliff Turner

2016 - Pat Carlson

2015 - Don Gnatiuk
2014 - Bob Martens
2013 - Cyril Gurevitch, QC
2012 - Dr. Brenda Millar
2011 - Jim & Maryhelen Boccioletti
2010 - Stewart Wilson
2009 - Henry Hamm
2008 - Glenn and Judy Keddie
2007 - Grant Menzies
2006 - Bob Pomeroy
2005 - Al Side
2004 - Ric and Penni Peterson
2003 - Tom Shields
2002 - Ken Sargent
2001 - Paul Evaskevich
2000 - Brian Nash
1999 - Pat Garrett
1998 - Wayne Patterson
1997 - Roy Bickel
1996 - Bill Bowes
1995 - Tom Thompson & Canada Games Volunteers


Above & Beyond Award

This award is presented when special circumstances present themselves, in which a member business or business person goes 'above and beyond'. This may include, but is not limited to, a business or individual that has acted with compassion in responding to a need within the community, or provided commendable community service that makes the community a better place to live and work.


2018 - Helen Rice

2017 - Shawna Miller

2016 - Bridget Hennigar

2015 - Marilyn Cramer
2013 - Mike O'Connor
2012 - Trenton Perrott
2011 - Debbie Reid President, and all 2010 Arctic Winter Games Volunteers
2010 - Victoria's Attic
2007 - Canadian Tire


Copyright Grande Prairie Chamber of Commerce.
All rights reserved.