Chamber AGM and Chamber Chair Salute



The Grande Prairie & District Chamber of Commerce welcomed a new Executive and elected four Members to the Board of Directors at the Chamber’s 2019 Annual General Meeting and Canwest Chamber Chair Salute.

Assuming the role of Chair is Larry Gibson (LSM). Also acclaimed from nominations were Tertius Genis (Fusion Business Solutions) as First Vice-Chair and Cindy Park (Seven Generations Energy) as Second Vice-Chair. Dan Wong (Beairsto & Associates Engineering) will remain on the Executive as Past Chair.

Three spots on the Board, left vacant by retiring Directors, have been filled by the following Chamber Members:
- Jon Anderson (ATB Financial)
- Pamela Nordin (London Hauling)
- Karci Wallan (MNP LLP)

The remaining position went to returning Director Lisa Hall (International Paper) who was successful in seeking her second term on the Board.

Those elected will join existing Directors: Becky Bozarth (Sun Life Financial), Brooks Hoffos (Royal LePage – The Realty Group), Ken Loudon (YMCA of Northern Alberta Grande Prairie Region), Shelly Sorensen (Willy’s Trucking Service), and Cord Spero (Re/Max Grande Prairie on the 2020 Chamber Board.

The Chamber would also like to recognize and thank retiring Board Members Cris Seppola-Podsada, Kory Brazel, Cheryl Budjak, Gord Chrenek, Frederic Grandmaison, Jason Miller, and Justin Munroe.

Another highlight of the evening was the presentation of the annual Chamber Member Awards. This year’s recipients are:
• Clem E. Collins Award (Chamber Volunteer) – Tab Pollock (Neil & Associates)
• Business Citizen of the Year – Lance Warkentin (Jeffrey’s Café)
• Dan H. Minchin Award (Long-Term Member Business Achievement) – Fletcher Mudryk LLP


The Grande Prairie & District Chamber of Commerce Annual General Meeting is held annually on the first Thursday of December. The meeting is open to all Chamber Members and includes a review of our activities over the past year as well as the election of our new Board of Directors. 

The Grande Prairie & District Chamber of Commerce 2020 AGM and Chamber Chair Salute is scheduled for Thursday, December 3 at the Pomeroy Hotel & Conference Centre. 

SPONSORSHIP OPPORTUNITIES ARE AVAILABLE! If interested, please contact Cindy Simigan by phone at 780-532-5340 or email

The doors will open at 5:30 PM. The agenda will feature dinner at 5:45 PM, our Annual General Meeting at 6:30 PM, and presentations at 7:30 PM including a Farewell to the Past Chair, a Welcome to the NEW Chair, our traditional Chamber Awards, and door prize draws.

Cost to attend TBA. To register for the event, contact our office by phone at 780-532-5340 or email

The meeting is open to all Chamber Members and will include a review of our activities over the past year as well as the election of our 2021 Board of Directors. 

Nomination packages will be made available in October 2020. For more information, please contact CEO Tanya Oliver by phone at 780-532-5340 or email

A reminder that each membership is allowed one electoral vote. For those holding more than one membership, you must have a matching number of people in attendance to cast that number of ballots. Please note nominations will be open to the floor as well.


Past Chamber Award Recipients

Dan H. Minchin Award

Established in 1995, this award recognizes local businesses for long term achievement. This award recognizes a longstanding member business that has established itself as an exemplary business, has become a cornerstone of the greater Grande Prairie area, and is a strong supporter of the Chamber. In its tenure, the business has conducted itself responsibly and has kept in mind the best interests of the community. The recipient is a business that people can observe and say, "They do a good job and they're a very valuable asset to the community."


2019 - Fletcher Mudryk LLP

2018 - Al's News
2017 - Neil & Associates

2016 - Oliver's Funeral Home

2015 - Devco Developments Corporation
2014 - Edward Houssian
2013 - Cardon Homes
2012 - Crouse's Cleaners
2011 - ATB FInancial
2010 - Prairie Coast Equipment
2009 - Kay McVey Smith & Carlstrom LLP
2008 - Curry's Jewellers
2007 - Aron Services
2006 - Sun FM
2005 - Lauzon Home Appliances Ltd.
2004 - Carl Linden
2003 - Peace Air Ltd.
2002 - The Golden Star Restaurant
2001 - Menzies Printers
2000 - Ernie's Sports Experts
1999 - The Daily Herald-Tribune
1998 - Weyerhaeuser Canada Ltd.
1997 - Windsor Ford
1996 - Grande Prairie & District Co-op
1995 - Risley Equipment Ltd


Clem E. Collins Award

Established in 1995, this award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to the Chamber. This award recipient is a volunteer within the Chamber who has gone above and beyond to make the Chamber strong. This could be a past or current board member, or an active volunteer who has participated in Chamber initiatives.


2019 - Tab Pollock

2018 - Rob Petrone
2017 - Jerry Napier

2016 - April Weavell

2015 - Barb Metituk
2014 - Cheryl Weaver
2013 - Janice Chomik
2012 - Greg Podmore
2011 - John Simpson
2010 - Vince Vavrek
2009 - Darlene Repka-Smith
2008 - Jackie Clayton
2007 - Lyle Carlstrom
2006 - Michael Ouellette
2005 - Vi Sunohara
2004 - Ken Loudon
2003 - Fletcher Bootle
2002 - Bridget Hennigar
2001 - Helen Rice
2000 - Michael O'Connor
1999 - Terry Tissington
1998 - Joe Stepaniuk, Ken Rivers
1997 - Pete Merlo
1996 - Robin Schneider
1995 - Clem Collins


Business Citizen of the Year Award

Established in 1995, this award recognizes an individual for outstanding business accomplishment in the previous year. This award is presented to a Chamber member business owner who has contributed not only to the business community of the greater Grande Prairie area, but also contributed something in the way of community efforts or volunteer contributions. In short, it's awarded to a member individual who has tirelessly gone to great lengths to make the greater Grande Prairie area an attractive place to live and establish a business.


2019 - Lance Warkentin

2018 - Devco Developments

2017 - Cliff Turner

2016 - Pat Carlson

2015 - Don Gnatiuk
2014 - Bob Martens
2013 - Cyril Gurevitch, QC
2012 - Dr. Brenda Millar
2011 - Jim & Maryhelen Boccioletti
2010 - Stewart Wilson
2009 - Henry Hamm
2008 - Glenn and Judy Keddie
2007 - Grant Menzies
2006 - Bob Pomeroy
2005 - Al Side
2004 - Ric and Penni Peterson
2003 - Tom Shields
2002 - Ken Sargent
2001 - Paul Evaskevich
2000 - Brian Nash
1999 - Pat Garrett
1998 - Wayne Patterson
1997 - Roy Bickel
1996 - Bill Bowes
1995 - Tom Thompson & Canada Games Volunteers


Above & Beyond Award

This award is presented when special circumstances present themselves, in which a member business or business person goes 'above and beyond'. This may include, but is not limited to, a business or individual that has acted with compassion in responding to a need within the community, or provided commendable community service that makes the community a better place to live and work.


2018 - Helen Rice

2017 - Shawna Miller

2016 - Bridget Hennigar

2015 - Marilyn Cramer
2013 - Mike O'Connor
2012 - Trenton Perrott
2011 - Debbie Reid President, and all 2010 Arctic Winter Games Volunteers
2010 - Victoria's Attic
2007 - Canadian Tire


Copyright Grande Prairie Chamber of Commerce.
All rights reserved.